Warriors buoyant

Warriors coach Jairos Tapera is optimistic that his team will get a win over Lesotho in their Group C 2026 Fifa World Cup qualifier.

All is now in place for the second edition of the Crystal Candy National Schools Chess Team Championship which kicks off tomorrow at Northlea High School in Bulawayo.

The event, which will see a total of 444 budding chess players from 37 primary and secondary schools taking part, concludes on Sunday.

This is the culmination of a tournament which began with provincial competitions which were played on May 17 across the country’s 10 provinces and saw a record 125 schools, primary and secondary, taking part.

And the 37 schools that will gather at Northlea High School this weekend qualified from the provincial competitions.

The Zimbabwe Chess Federation (ZCF) was impressed by the overwhelming response from schools towards the event.

“This prestigious event, organised in partnership with Crystal Candy Zimbabwe, has seen an overwhelming response from schools across the country,” ZCF secretary-general Todd Mapingire said.

“The Crystal Candy National Schools Chess Team Tournament has witnessed an impressive participation of over 125 primary and secondary schools from all 10 provinces of Zimbabwe.

“The competition, consisting of two phases, namely the provincial competitions and the national event, aims to foster chess talent and promote healthy competition among students.

“The event promises to be a thrilling showcase of wit and genius as the best young chess players from schools across the nation compete for the ultimate glory of their schools and provinces.

“The event promises to be intense and exciting and such competitions are what our sport needs to grow. We are grateful to Crystal Candy Zimbabwe for their invaluable support and commitment in making this league a resounding success as well as their determination to grow our chess in Zimbabwe.

“Their commitment to nurturing young chess talent is commendable and aligns with ZCF’s vision of promoting chess as a sport and educational tool.”

There will be 19 secondary schools competing for top honours as well as 18 primary schools.

Related Topics