HomeSportZC polls on at last

ZC polls on at last

Darlington Majonga

VETERAN administrator Peter Chingoka was among the candidates vetted by a nomination court last night ahead of Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC)’s board ele

ctions slated for tomorrow.

The 52-year-old Chingoka, who has survived several attempts to oust him over the last two years, was among nominees for tomorrow’s poll together with Tavengwa Mukuhlani, Wilson Manase, Nimrod Chiminya, Sylvester Machaka and Charles Maunze.

However, their candidature for the board elections had not been approved yet at the time of going to print as the nomination court was still sitting.

A substantive ZC board is expected to be elected tomorrow after the Sports and Recreation Commission (SRC) finally approved the union’s draft constitution it had earlier rejected.

ZC last week presented their amended constitution after repealing Section 25 that gave the sports minister the prerogative to handpick seven of the board’s 12 members.

All board posts will now be contested for, according to the constitution the SRC finally accepted.

“I can confirm that we presented the amended constitution to the SRC legal committee last week,” ZC managing director Ozias Bvute told IndependentSport yesterday. “We were given a verbal confirmation that the constitution will be registered and that it now met their expectations.”

He added: “On the basis of that verbal confirmation we are proceeding with the roadmap that had been agreed upon whereby we’ll hold elections for 13 board members inclusive of the chairperson and vice.”

Tomorrow’s elections effectively end the tenure of the interim committee, which Bvute said had accomplished its brief.

“The interim committee has completed the assignment given to it by the SRC and the final act is to usher a new dispensation through an acceptable constitution,” he said.

ZC stakeholders a fortnight ago approved the procedure for the election of the board of directors, with seven appointed by the provincial chairpersons sitting as an electoral college and six by the chairpersons from provincial nominations.

The 10 provincial chairmen are Harare Metropolitan’s Cyprian Mandenge, Bulawayo Metropolitan’s Stanley Staddon, Arthur Maposa of Matabeleland South, Donald Khumalo of Matabeleland North, Freddy Kapuya of Midlands, Masvingo’s Josiphat Mbanda, Manicaland’s Philip Matiza as well as Brian Mungofa, Bauren Matemayi and Lavert Zungunde of Mashonaland West, East and Central respectively.

The SRC dissolved the substantive board after serious off-field wrangling characterised by player revolts, mudslinging and serious allegations of fraud and mismanagement.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading