HomeEntertainmentCountries added as Coke Studios merge

Countries added as Coke Studios merge

THE Coca-Cola Company, through its music flagship show Coke Studio, has merged Coke Studio Africa and Coke Studio South Africa into a bigger Coke Studio Africa 2017. The merger promises to be a melting pot of music talent bringing together renowned music producers and top-notch artistes drawn from various parts of the continent.

Ano Shumba

Jah Prayzah rehearsing at Coke Studio Africa
Jah Prayzah rehearsing at Coke Studio Africa

The merger increases the number of participating countries to 16, up from 11 in the previous edition. This season will broadcast in more than 30 countries across Africa. The production now includes artistes from South Africa, Rwanda, Angola, Zimbabwe, Togo, Madagascar, Mauritius, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Nigeria, Ghana, Mozambique, DRC, Ethiopia and Cameroon. The last edition featured Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Nigeria, Ghana, Mozambique, DRC, Ethiopia, Cameroon, Ivory Coast and Togo, while South Africa had its own production.

“Coke Studio Africa showcases Africa’s incredible music by combining different artistes and genres to inspire a new generation of African music fans,” Coke Studio Africa project director Monali Shah said. “With the expanded show, we aim to bring the continent alive through a fusion of music and culture that celebrates our diversity.

“Music is the heartbeat and the soul of many diverse communities throughout Africa. From Bongo, to Kwaito, to Lingala and other genres across Africa, Coke Studio Africa is helping introduce these different musical styles to new communities for the first time, while maintaining a long tradition of Coca-Cola’s use of music to build its brands,” she said.

Coca-Cola Kenya marketing manager Lucy Oduor added her voice. “Music has always been the heartbeat and soul of Africa but the Internet, social media and creativity is taking artistes from their communities and cities and allowing them to reach an audience across the continent which is being supported through initiatives such as Coke Studio Africa,” she said.

Some of the artistes who will feature this season include Tanzanian musicians Rayvanny, Izzo Bizness and Nandy, Ugandan artists Bebe Cool, Eddy Kenzo, Ykee Benda and Sheebah, Khaligraph Jones & Band Becca from Kenya as well as Sami Dan from Ethiopia. The South African pack includes Nasty C, Busiswa and Mashaya Bhuqe. Other artistes include Youssoupha (DRC), Runtown and Yemi from Nigeria, Dji Tafinha (Angola), Laura Beg (Mauritius), Jah Prayzah (Zimbabwe), Slapdee (Central African Republic), Bisa Kdei and Worlasi from Ghana, Betty G from Ethiopia, Bruce Melodie, Shellsy Baronet & Mr Bow from Mozambique, Denise (Madagascar), Ozane (Togo) and Freeda (Namibia).

Key names in this year’s production are reputable producers such as Yuvir Pillay Nivedan, aka Sketchy Bongo, and Maphorisa from South Africa, Kiff No Beat from Ivory Coast and Nahreel from Tanzanial, among others.

According to the organisers, Coke Studio aims to inspire and introduce Africa’s music talents to a new and wider audience through interaction, collaboration and cooperation among artistes while also building a strong brand connection with Africa’s young and growing population. Coke Studio Africa 2017 is expected to air from August in southern and central Africa, and from September in east and West Africa. — musicinafrica.net.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading