HomeBusiness DigestNew faces expected in looming Nssa board

New faces expected in looming Nssa board

A new National Social Security Authority board is set to be announced next Monday amid indications it will be chaired by business executive Robin Vela.

Kudzai Kuwaza

The nine-member board will be announced at a time the authority is finalising the setting up of a building society and are planning to introduce the National Health Insurance and the Maternity Protection schemes.
“The board which will be announced on Monday will be chaired by Robin Vela, barring any last minute changes,” a source confided to businessdigest.

Among members of the new board is former BancABC Zimbabwe MD Hashmon Matemera with director of finance in the ministry of Labour, Memory Mukondomi set to retain her seat, having served on the previous board, according to informed sources.

In an interview with businessdigest earlier this year, Labour minister Prisca Mupfumira said the Nssa board, when appointed, would be tasked to look into various issues affecting the authority, especially its investment portfolio. Investments by the authority have come under heavy criticism for throwing workers’ contributions down the drain through unsuccessful investment, including the failed Capital Bank.

“We are in the process of getting a board which will look at the investments. Is the (Nssa) investment policy benefitting the worker? Is it developmental? These are the issues the board will look at,” Mupfumira said in the interview.

“I want a board of competent people who are free of questionable backgrounds and if possible, these should be fresh faces, not those who have been continuously recycled.”

Mupfumira also said she had turned down several nominations proposed to her as they did not have the qualifications needed to look into the issues affecting Nssa.

The previous Nssa board, whose term expired in August 2013, was chaired by lawyer Innocent Chagonda. He was deputised by corporate governance expert David Mutambara. Other members of the board were Nssa general manager James Matiza (ex officio), Chris Hokonya, David Govere, Joseph Kanyekanye, Cecilia Alexander, Rosa Dube, Kennias Shamuyarira, Ephanos Makiwa and Mukondomi.

The appointment of the board comes soon after Mupfumira appointed a board to run the authority’s newly set up building society in June this year. The board is chaired by Gamaliel Bwanya who is deputised by Precious Sibiya. Other board members include David Mnangagwa, Jean Maguranyanga, Nimrod Chiminya, Tinotenda Kambasha, Sibusisiwe Bango, Josephine Ncube and James Matiza.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading