HomePolitics‘Dirty dozen’ allegations spark chaos in Zanu PF

‘Dirty dozen’ allegations spark chaos in Zanu PF

THERE is confusion in Zanu PF with regards to what has come to be known as the “dirty dozen” members of parliament being investigated for allegedly spying for the United States.
Staff writers

Sources this week said the issue came to light after Presidential Affairs minister Didymus Mutasa presented a report in cabinet on September 16 on how Zanu PF MPs were being funded by the US embassy.

“Mutasa was the first person to expose the “dirty dozen” issue in cabinet, but surprisingly the majority of these legislators belong to Vice-President Joice Mujuru’s faction, which Mutasa is also aligned to,” a source said.

The US government is accused of giving money to the Zanu PF MPs to fund community projects in their constituencies, a development that has raised eyebrows given the sour relations between Zanu PF and the Americans.

Sources in Zanu PF said Mutasa exposed legislators aligned to his faction to cover his back as pressure continue to mount from President Robert Mugabe who is castigating factionalism in the party.

In an interview yesterday, Mutasa refused to comment on the “dirty dozen” saga.

“I am not the party spokesperson to comment on that issue. Why has this generated interest with your paper?” he said, adding: “I do not want to talk to the private press.”

But another source said, “It was a way of cleansing the bigwigs in the forefront of factionalism; however this has gone wrong as members of the other faction allegedly being led by Justice minister Emmerson Mnangagwa have found ammunition to attack Mujuru.”

A fortnight ago US ambassador to Zimbabwe Bruce Wharton handed over a grant at a signing ceremony in Harare at his embassy, where Paul Mavhima (Gokwe Sengwa), Walter Kanhanga (Guruve North), Adam Chimwamurombe (Chipinge West) and Chriswell Mutematsaka (Guruve South) were invited.

Other MPs invited included Batsirayi Pemhanayi (Mutare North), Enock Porusingazi (Chipinge West), Tapiwanashe Matangaidze (Shurugwi South), Temba Mliswa (Hurungwe West), Kindness Paradza (Makonde), David Butau (Mbire) and Simbaneuta Mudarikwa (Uzumba).

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading