HomeEntertainmentReps releases Afdis Awards nominees

Reps releases Afdis Awards nominees

REPS Theatre recently released nominees for the annual Reps Afdis Awards to be held on March 9.

Staff Writer

The ceremony will take place at Reps Theatre and nominations cover all Repertory Players productions staged last year.
According to the show organisers, the awards ceremony is set to be interactive with members of the audience supporting and applauding the nominees.

Below are the nominees:

The John Keeling Award for best actor in a leading role:
Zoran Zec and Musa Saruro who starred in Leading Ladies. Paul Shephard and Ryan Lawrence of Boeing Boeing.

The George Barnes Award for best actress in a leading role:

Vanessa Vos Table Manners, Chipo Chikara Leading Ladies, Amy Bolt Peter Pan and Erin Sticklen Chapter Two.

The Alan Parkinson Award for best supporting actor:
Larry Greef Hairspray, John Dennison Table Manners, Mufaro Muyambo Hysterical History of the TrojanWar, Stephane Thomas Peter Pan, Mike Blackburn Boeing Boeing and Adriano Gorassini Julius Caesar.

The Allan Shaw Award for best supporting actress:
Emily Greeff Hysterical History of the Trojan War, Jamie McLaren Boeing Boeing, Victoria Carter Hairspray, Kayla Thomas Peter Pan, Min’enhle Nguni Hysterical History of the Trojan War, Thea Cutler Julius Caesar, Meredith Render Hysterical History of the Trojan War, Chloe Cattin Chapter Two and Fiona Garrity Table Manners.

The Prentice Trophy for best minor performance:
Min’enhle Nguni Hairspray, Marc Thomas Shout!, Gail Cooper Peter Pan, Philippa Johnston Leading Ladies, Linda Hyde Peter Pan, Richard Sticklen Hairspray.

The Reps Award for best performance by a junior under the age of 16:
Kayla Thomas, Amy Bolt and Jordan Charnley Peter Pan

The Alistair and Wendy Booth Award for best comedy performance:
Zoran Zec Leading Ladies, Chipo Chikara Leading Ladies, Paul Shephard Boeing Boeing, Mike Blackburn Boeing Boeing, Musa Saruro Leading Ladies, Larry Greeff Hairspray and Martin Bolt Peter Pan.

Dave Roberts Memorial Trophy for most outstanding musical performance:
Charlene Fireyi Hairspray, David Bvumbe Shout!, Munya Gurumatunhu Shout!, Chris van der Walt The A-Z Of Rock and Collina Mvududu Shout!.

The Sue Greener Technical Award:
Karen Howard-Beard (lighting design and operation for Chapter Two). Mike Blackburn (set design for Boeing Boeing), Aileen Taylor (wardrobe for Hairspray), Hesbe Chivers (wardrobe for Peter Pan), Linda Hyde (set design for Eclipsed) and Linda Hyde (set design for Chapter Two).

The Hugh Dornhurst Trophy for best first Reps performance:
Min’enhle Nguni Hysterical History of the Trojan War, Victoria Carter Hairspray, Mande Snyman Shout!, Jordan Charnley Peter Pan and Charlene Fireyi Hairspray.

The Reps Trophy for best contribution to dance and movement:
June Cloete, Michelle Nativel and Timikha Fisher (Shout!) and Michelle Nativel (Hairspray).

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading