HomePoliticsParly Sets up Committee to Oversee Govt Departments

Parly Sets up Committee to Oversee Govt Departments

PARLIAMENT has constituted the Committee on Standing Rules and Orders that will, among other things, select members of various commissions to run government institutions.


The constitutionally established committee was formed on Tuesday and is expected to expedite the setting up of portfolio committees, which have oversight roles over government ministries.

The Committee on Standing Rules and Orders is dominated by lawmakers from the two MDC formations.

It is made up of Speaker of Parliament Lovemore Moyo, his deputy Nomalanga Khumalo, Senate President Edna Madzongwe, Deputy Senate President Naison Ndlovu, and Vice Presidents Joseph Msika and Joice Mujuru.

Leader of the government in the House of Assembly Morgan Tsvangirai, his deputy Thokozani Khuphe, co-Deputy Prime Minister Arthur Mutambara, Constitutional and Parliamentary Affairs minister Eric Matinenga, Industry minister Welshman Ncube and Finance minister Tendai Biti are also members of the committee.

Other members are Defence minister Emmerson Mnangagwa, Justice minister Patrick Chinamasa and legislators Paul Mangwana, Mabel Chinamora, Njabuliso Mguni, Thabitha Khumalo, Tongai Mathuthu, Tapiwa Mashakada and Obert Gutu.

Chief Fortune Charumbira is the traditional leaders’ representative in the committee.

The committee is expected to expedite the selection of members of the long-awaited Zimbabwe Human Rights Commission and the Zimbabwe Media Commission to replace the Tafataona Mahoso-led Media and Information Commission.

The Zimbabwe Media Commission, once constituted, will, among other issues, attend to the issuance of publication licences.

The committee would also have a say in the selection of members of other commissions such as the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission and the Zimbabwe Anti-Corruption Commission.


Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading