HomePoliticsThree More SA Cabinet Ministers Resign

Three More SA Cabinet Ministers Resign

The SABC has reliably learnt that Finance minister Trevor Manuel, together with Defence Minister Mosioua Lekota and Intelligence Minister Ronnie Kasrils have already submitted their resignations to President Thabo Mbeki.

In all, more than 14 Cabinet Ministers are reported to be resigning today. They will join Deputy President Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka who confirmed her resignation this morning. Minister in the Office of the President, Essop Pahad and Science and Technology Minister Mosibudi Mangena, tendered their resignations earlier.

The ministers want Mbeki to accept their resignations before he leaves office on Thursday.

Earlier, it was reported that Mbeki had received their resignations but refused to accept them. The mass cabinet resignations follow that of Mbeki, who was ousted from his position after his party requested him to resign as President at the weekend.sabcnews

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading