HomeSportThe Best . . .

The Best . . .

Shivnarine Chanderpaul of the West Indies, seen in this AFP photo was crowned ICC International Cricketer of the Year at a glittering ICC Cricket Awards ceremony in Dubai on Wednesday night.


The 34-year-old left-hander from Guyana played eight Tests during the voting period, scoring 819 runs at an average of 91,00, including three centuries and six fifties. In 13 ODIs he averaged 74,75. The other winners were: Dale Steyn, South Africa (Test Cricketer of the Year), Mahendra Singh Dhoni, India (ODI Cricketer of the Year), Ricky Ponting, Australia (Captain of the Year), Ajantha Mendis, Sri Lanka (Emerging Player of the Year), Ryan ten Doeschate, Netherlands (Associate ODI Player of the Year), Yuvraj Singh, India (Twenty20 International Performance of the Year), Charlotte Edwards, England (Women’s Cricketer of the Year), Simon Taufel, New Zealand (Umpire of the Year), Sri Lanka team (Spirit of Cricket Award). The long-list for the awards was complied by a Selection Panel chaired by West Indies legend Sir Clive Lloyd and including former Australia captain Greg Chappell, recently retired South African all-rounder Shaun Pollock, former Sri Lanka opener Sidath Wettimuny and former Bangladesh batsman Athar Ali Khan. The list complied by the panel was then forwarded for voting by a 25-member ICC Voting Academy made up of former players, selected journalists, an elite umpire and an elite referee. Zimbabwe Independent’s Enock Muchinjo was a member of the Voting Academy.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading