HomePoliticsAfrican Leaders Condemn Violence

African Leaders Condemn Violence

FORMER African presidents, prime ministers, civil society heads and other high-profile leaders have signed an open letter calling for free and fair elections in Zimbabwe. The letter also calls for an end to political violence and intimidation.

Part of the letter reads: “Zimbabweans fought for liberation in order to be able to determine their own future. Great sacrifices were made during the liberation struggle. To live up to the aspirations of those who sacrificed, it is vital that nothing is done to deny the legitimate expression of the will of the people of Zimbabwe.”

“We call for an end to the violence and intimidation, and the restoration of full access for humanitarian and aid agencies,” it said.

The signatories include:

*Boutros Boutros-Ghali, former Secretary-General of the United Nations (1992-1997),

*Kofi Annan, former Secretary-General of the United Nations (1997-2007), Nobel Laureate and member of The Elders,

*Abdusalami Alhaji Abubakar, former President of Nigeria (1998-1999),

*Jerry John Rawlings, former President of Ghana (1993-2001),

*Joaquim Chissano, former President of Mozambique (1986-2005),

*Kenneth David Kaunda, former President of Zambia (1964-1991),

*Benjamin William Mkapa, former President of Tanzania (1995-2005),

*Festus Mogae, former President of Botswana (1998-2008),

*Cassam Uteem, former President of Mauritius (1992-2002),

*António Mascarenhas Monteiro, former President of Cape Verde (1991-2001),

*Elson Bakili Muluzi, former President of Malawi (1994-2004),

*Ali Hassan Mwinyi, former President of Tanzania (1985-1995),

*Ketumile Masire, former President of Botswana (1980-1998),

*Domitien Ndayizeye, former President of Burundi (2003-2005),

*Karl Offman, former President of Mauritius (2002-2003),

*Nicéphore Dieudonné Soglo, former President of Benin (1991-1996),

*Miguel Trovoada, former President of São Tomé and Príncipe (1991-2001),

*Joseph Sinde Warioba, former Prime Minister of Tanzania (1985-1990)

*Salim Ahmed Salim, former Prime Minister of Tanzania (1994-1995) and former Secretary-General of the OAU (1989-2001),

*Moustapha Niasse, former Prime Minister of Senegal (1983, 2000-2001),

*Graça Machel, President for the Foundation for Community Development and member of The Elders,

*John Sentamu, Archbishop of York,

*Desmond Tutu, Nobel Laureate and Chairman of The Elders,

*Njongonkulu Ndungane, former Archbishop of Cape Town and Founder of the African Monitor,

*Zwelinzima Vavi, General Secretary of the Congress of South African Trade Unions.

*Lakhdar Brahimi, former United Nations Special Representative for Afghanistan, Haiti, Iraq and South Africa, member of The Elders,

*Pierre Buyoya, former President of Burundi (1987-1993, 1996-2003),

*Achmat Dangor, chief executive officer, Nelson Mandela Foundation,

*John Githongo, former Permanent Secretary for Governance and Ethics in Kenya,

*Richard Goldstone, former Judge of the Constitutional Court of South Africa,

*Mo Ibrahim, founder of Celtel International and Founder of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation,

*Sam Jonah, former chief executive of the Ashanti Goldfields Corporation,

*William Kalema, chairman of the Uganda Investment Authority,

*Angelique Kidjo, musician and Unicef Goodwill Ambassador,

*Wangari Maathai, founder of the Green Belt Movement and Nobel Laureate,

*Moeletsi Mbeki, Deputy Chairman of the South African Institute of International Affairs,

*Kumi Naidoo, Secretary General of Civicus,

*Babacar Ndiaye Former President of the African Development Bank,

*Youssou N’Dour, Musician and Unicef Goodwill Ambassador,

*Loyiso Nongxa, Vice-Chancellor and Principal of the University of the Witwatersrand. — Staff


Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading