HomeSportTop player selection tonight

Top player selection tonight

Pindai Dube

SOUTHERN region sports writers meet tomorrow in Bulawayo to select the region’s TPA Builders Merchants deserving players for awards sponsored to the tu

ne of $210 000.

TPA Builders Merchants, a Bulawayo hardware distributing company, has since March been honouring the most outstanding players and goalkeepers through monthly awards.

The southern region player of the year awards ceremony, that will also honour the 2006 region’s coach, referee, goalkeeper and sports writer,will be held at Reynolds Inn in Bulawayo.

The country’s player of the year is set to get $10 000 less than the southern region’s player of the year.

TPA Builders Merchants director, Joel Mahlangu said: “It has been our away of contributing to the thrills of the world’s most beautiful game. We suppose in our way we contributed to part of the excitement for 2006 and rightfully need to celebrate the southern region’s success in football as a big family.

“This is a time to celebrate the region’s good run. We have the championship and a part of us is in the Cynthensis Cotton Unity final. And of course, Chapungu will be in the weekend’s CBZ final.”

Leading front-runners for the award are the Highlanders quartet of Honour Gombami, Obadiah Tarumbwa, Gilbert Banda and Ralph Matema and Hwange’s Carrington Gomba.

Tarumbwa, Banda, Gombami and Gomba are also in the running for the country’s 2006 player of the year award.

The southern region provided eight of the 11 most outstanding players of the year in the 2006 PSL season.

Front-runners for the region’s goal keeper of the year award include Hwange goal keeper, Chenjerai Dube, Tafadzwa Dube of Masvingo United, Lancashire’s Washington Arubi, Hwange’s Timothy Sibanda and Chapungu’s Edmore Sibanda.

Referees in contention include Khanyile Mlilo, Edison Nkau, Thabani Mnkantjo, Sungano Makwangudze and Dave Sibanda.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading