HomeSportGrobbelaar, Ndlovu vie for Africa award

Grobbelaar, Ndlovu vie for Africa award

Darlington Majonga

ZIMBABWE football idols Peter Ndlovu and Bruce Grobbelaar have been shortlisted for an award to honour the best African footballer in the last 50 year


Ndlovu and Grobbelaar were this week named among 200 players nominated for the accolade by the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

The award is part of the activities to commemorate CAF’s golden jubilee.

CAF selected the players on the basis of “significant” national, regional and continental performance as well as in the World Cup and Olympic tournaments.

The winner of the award will be chosen by Internet users who will vote through CAF’s website up to November 15.

Names of the top 50 players will be published on the CAF website from December to February 8.

In order to afford all the nominees equal chances — considering that older-generation players enjoyed little or no media coverage — CAF has divided the shortlist into four groupings and assigned a coefficient to each of the four periods.

Ndlovu and Grobbelaar are listed in the 1990-2006 period.

Grobbelaar, who starred for Liverpool from the early 1980s until the mid-1990s, is rated as arguably the best African goalkeeper to have played in England. Ndlovu, who is now playing at South Africa’s Mamelodi Sundowns, was idolised at Coventry while his exploits in national colours have made him a cult hero.

The Zimbabwean duo is nominated alongside African Footballer of the Year Samuel Eto’o of Cameroon as well as his compatriots Roger Milla, the late Marc-Vivien Foe, Patric Mboma, François Oman-Biyik and Joseph Antoine Bell.

Other former great players vying for the accolade are Zambian legend Kalusha Bwalya, Liberia’s George Weah, Hani Ramzy of Egypt, Ghanaians Abedi Ayew Pele and Anthony Yeboah as well as Nigerians Rashidi Yekini and Daniel Amokachi.

Chelsea star Michael Essien of Ghana is also in the running together with his Ivorian team-mate Didier Drogba. South Africans Bennie McCarthy, Lucas Radebe and Mark Fish are also shortlisted as are Angola’s Akwa, Nigerians Augustine Okocha, Nwanko Kanu, Sunday Oliseh, Julius Aghahowa and Victor Ikpeba.

Algerians Rabah Madjer, Ali Fergani and Salah Assad are named in the 1980-1990 tier alongside Hossam Hassan of Egypt, Zambians Efford Chabala and Peter Kaumba and Youssouf Fofana of Ivory Coast.

The likes of Zambians Alex Chola and Richard Chama who starred in the 1970-1980 era are also vying for the CAF golden jubilee award together with Paul Moukila of Congo and Papa Camara of Guinea.

Voters can only select one player from the supplied list or add another name while taking into consideration CAF’s laid-down.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading