HomeSportPonting heads ICC awards list

Ponting heads ICC awards list

AUSTRALIA captain Ricky Ponting heads the short-list for the annual International Cricket Council (ICC) awards after being nominated in four categories.

Ponting is in line to retain the cricketer of the year prize and the accola

de as top Test player. He is also on the short-list for the best one-day player and captain.

His champion side had another superb year, regaining the Ashes at home before sweeping to an unprecedented hat-trick of World Cup titles in the Caribbean.

The awards will be presented at a function in Johannesburg a day before the start of the inaugural Twenty20 World Cup in South Africa next week.

Mahela Jayawardene, who led Sri Lanka to the World Cup final, is the other nominee for captaincy. Pakistan’s Mohammad Yousuf, England’s Kevin Pietersen and West Indies batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul are also in the running for the player of the year award.

Sri Lanka spinner Muttiah Muralitharan, Pietersen and Yousuf have been short-listed for the Test player’s award, while South Africa all-rounder Jacques Kallis and Ponting’s team mates Matthew Hayden and the retired Glenn McGrath are in contention for the one-day player of the year award. — Reuters.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading